Battered WA and QLD towns to get govt disaster support

People in Western Australia and Queensland affected by natural disasters will have access to government assistance.

Minister for Emergency Management Nicola Roxon said on Saturday communities impacted by Tropical Cyclone Lua in Western Australia will receive disaster assistance under a federal and state government agreement.

This includes interest rate subsidies on new loans for eligible small businesses and personal hardship and distress grants.

Seven northern Queensland communities impacted by recent heavy rainfall and flooding will also receive disaster assistance.

Assistance will be offered to people in Cook, Croydon, Flinders, Mackay, Palm Island, Richmond and Yarrabah.

The announcement brings the total number of North Queensland communities receiving government assistance to 20.

Have your say...

We welcome thoughtful comments from readers
captcha img
Reload characters
Type the characters you see in this box. This helps us prevent automated programs from sending spam.