Home Trusted by 600,000+ buyers

National Transfer Stations Excellence Awards

Supplier: Wastech Engineering
29 September, 2009

The WMAA, with support from Meinhardt and Wastech Engineering established the National Transfer Stations Excellence Awards in 2007 to showcase to the industry and the general public the best that transfer stations have to offer.

These awards aim to promote and reward great facilities all over the country, while encouraging best practice in transfer station operations. The National Landfill Division of the Waste Management Association of Australia (WMAA) invites you to consider nominating your transfer station(s) for consideration in the National Transfer Stations Excellence Award for 2009.

The awards will be presented at the National Landfill & Transfer Stations Conference Dinner in Hobart on 27 August 2009 (see www.landfill.com.au for details) in two categories, Large Transfer Stations and Small Transfer Stations.

The awards are not solely for the big metropolitan transfer stations; it is equally open to smaller regional and rural transfer stations that have a record of excellence in their own context. A small transfer station is one that receives 2000 tonnes/month or less. Past winners are eligible to nominate providing standards have been maintained. The format of the awards is based on the approach by SWANA in America and smaller sites regularly feature in its awards.

Rex Glencross-Grant from the University of New England will be chairing a panel of judges all experienced in transfer station design and operation.